August 07, 2020

Van Hollen, Warren, Perdue Reintroduce Bipartisan Resolution Designating September 2020 as "Polycystic Ovary Syndrome Awareness Month"

U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), and David Perdue (R-Ga.) reintroduced a bipartisan resolution recognizing the seriousness of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) and expressing support for the designation of September as PCOS Awareness Month. 

Polycystic Ovary Syndrome is a complex hormonal, metabolic, and reproductive disorder that affects between 5 and 10 million women and girls in the United States. PCOS is the most common endocrine disorder among women and is a leading cause of infertility. PCOS symptoms include infertility, irregular menstrual periods, pelvic pain, ovarian cysts, weight gain, excessive facial and body hair growth, and mental health problems. Women with PCOS often suffer from psychosocial disorders, such as anxiety, depression, and eating disorders and have a higher risk of developing diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and fatty liver disease. Some studies have shown that suicide attempts are up to 7 times more common in women with PCOS than other women due to the disorder's anxiety and depression symptoms. There is currently no cure for PCOS, and half of the women and girls living with the syndrome are undiagnosed.

The resolution, which highlights the symptoms and prevalence of PCOS, resolves that the Senate expresses support for increasing awareness of the disorder, improving PCOS diagnosis and treatment, and improving the quality of life of women and girls living with PCOS. The resolution also recognizes the need for further research on PCOS and urges medical researchers and health care professionals to advance their understanding of the disorder.

Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Kelly Loeffler (R-Ga.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Susan Collins (D-Maine.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), and Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) co-sponsored the resolution.

The full text of the resolution is available here.