January 14, 2022

Van Hollen Statement on Biden Nominations of Sarah Bloom Raskin, Lisa Cook, and Philip Jefferson to Serve on Fed Board

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) released the following statement regarding President Biden’s nomination of Sarah Bloom Raskin, Lisa Cook, and Philip Jefferson to serve on the Federal Reserve Board of Governors: 

“As our nation continues to face a range of economic challenges – including the impact of COVID-19, the need to create more shared prosperity, and the accelerating financial and other threats of climate change – we need wise and strong leadership at the Federal Reserve. President Biden’s nominees, Sarah Bloom Raskin, Lisa Cook, and Philip Jefferson, are prepared and superbly qualified to meet the tests of our time, and the breadth and diversity of their experiences and backgrounds will serve the American people well. 

“The President’s nomination of a fellow Marylander, Sarah Bloom Raskin, to serve as the Vice Chair of Supervision, is a brilliant choice. Sarah’s expertise qualifies her beyond compare, but as a Marylander and a good friend, I’m especially proud to support her.

“This new slate of nominees, if confirmed, will strengthen the Fed and – as the most diverse Board in history – help ensure that our economic policy reflects the best interests of all Americans. I look forward to working with my colleagues in the Senate to confirm these highly qualified individuals as quickly as possible.”