January 25, 2018

Van Hollen Joins First-Ever Resolution Recognizing January 25th as Women’s Health Research Day

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) joined Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and U.S. Representative Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), to introduce a resolution designating January 25th, 2018, as Women's Health Research Day. Women's Health Research Day recognizes the need to increase awareness of sex- and gender-based biomedical research, which the National Institutes of Health did not consider prior to 2016, the underrepresentation of women in past biomedical research and the importance of inclusive health research for women.

U.S. Senators Kamala Harris (D-CA), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Heidi Heitkamp (D-MT), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Angus King (I-ME), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Patty Murray (D-WA) and Bill Nelson (D-FL) and U.S. Representatives Danny Davis (D-IL), Bill Foster (D-IL), Shelia Jackson-Lee (D-TX), Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), Seth Moulton (D-MA), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (D-FL) and Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ) are also cosponsoring the Women's Health Research Day Resolution. This resolution is endorsed by the Women's Health Research Institute, Society for Women's Health Research, Research!America, Association of Women in Science, Endocrine Society, American Association of University Women, Continuum Clinical and the American Society for Nutrition.