February 16, 2017

Van Hollen Introduces Legislation Rescinding Trump’s Massive Deportation Executive Order

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen joined Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) and a group of 18 Democratic Senators to introduce legislation to rescind President Trump's Executive Order on Interior Enforcement, which directs the Department of Homeland Security to prioritize the deportation of a vast majority of undocumented immigrants living and contributing to U.S. communities.

"President Trump's effort to divide us along lines of race, religion, and place of birth are shameful," said Senator Van Hollen. "Immigration enforcement should remain focused on individuals who have committed crimes in the United States. Trump's fixation on dramatically increasing deportations will tear families apart, cause economic upheaval in our communities, and will fail to address our broken immigration system. We must quickly overturn this dangerous executive order."

"President Trump's divisive and racist executive order is athreat to the safety and security of our hardworking families and immigrant communities, and must be rescinded," said Senator Cortez Masto. "As the proud granddaughter of immigrants who came to America for the opportunity to succeed, I know firsthand how essential it is that we continue to provide that same opportunity for hardworking families who come to America from all over the world. Every new generation of immigrants further enriches the fabric and culture of our nation, and without them this country would not be what it is today. President Trump is carrying out an unprecedented massive deportation agenda, without regard to the American values of family unity and fairness. This approach is wrong. Instead of instigating fear through insensitive and ill-suited executive orders, we should be working together to find a permanent solution to our serious immigration problems."

Joining Van Hollen and Cortez Masto in introducing the legislation are U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Mazie Hirono (D- Hawaii), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory A. Booker (D-N.J.), Christopher Coons (D-Del.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).