May 06, 2022

Van Hollen, Brown, Collins Introduce Bipartisan Resolution to Honor America's Teachers, Mark Teacher Appreciation Week

To honor our nation's teachers and commemorate National Teacher Appreciation Week (May 2-6), U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), and Susan Collins (R-Maine) introduced a bipartisan resolution to recognize the important work of teachers across the nation, thank them for their efforts to prepare students for success, and acknowledge the additional challenges teachers faced during school reopening following closures due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In addition to Van Hollen, Brown, and Collins, the resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Angus King (I-Maine), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), and Bob Casey (D-Pa.).

A copy of the resolution can be read here and below.

Recognizing the roles and contributions of the teachers of the United States in building and enhancing the civic, cultural, and economic well-being of the United States.

Whereas education and knowledge are the foundation of the current and future strength of the United States;

Whereas teachers and other education staff have earned and deserve the respect of their students and communities for the selfless dedication of the teachers and staff to com- munity service and the futures of the children of the United States;

Whereas school communities, teachers, and other education staff have risen to the occasion to support their students and communities amid the significant challenges posed by the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID–19) pandemic;

Whereas teachers and other education staff have taken on the challenges presented by schools reopening, including by—

(1) helping to address pandemic learning loss;

(2) supporting the mental and behavioral health needs of students; and

(3) maintaining health and safety standards to pre- vent a reoccurrence of the pandemic;

Whereas the purposes of National Teacher Appreciation Week, celebrated from May 2, 2022, through May 6, 2022, are—

(1) to raise public awareness of the unquantifiable contributions of teachers; and

(2) to promote greater respect and understanding for the teaching profession; and

Whereas students, schools, communities, and a number of or- ganizations representing educators are recognizing the importance of teachers during National Teacher Appre- ciation Week: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) thanks the teachers of the United States;


(2) promotes the profession of teaching and the contributions of educators by encouraging students, parents, school administrators, and public officials to recognize National Teacher Appreciation Week.