June 12, 2019

Van Hollen, Bipartisan Group of Senators Support Hong Kong Protestors

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Maryland) along with Senators Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Jeanne Shaheen (D-New Hampshire), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia), Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska), Chris Murphy (D-Connecticut), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Angus King (I-Maine), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), and Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma) released the following statement of support for the millions of citizens protesting the Chinese Communist Party in Hong Kong:

"The extradition law proposed by Beijing loyalists in Hong Kong would allow political dissidents, minorities, and foreign travelers in Hong Kong to be spirited away to China's secret police on the mainland. The people of Hong Kong are assembling in the streets to resist this threat to their freedom and send a message to the Chinese Communist Party.

Hong Kong demonstrators know what happened in Tiananmen Square in 1989, unlike so many Chinese on the mainland. They know the risk they run by defying the Chinese Communist Party. The demonstrators' courage in the face of threats, police batons, and tear gas is an example for the world to follow. We support these demonstrators as they fight for freedom and call on Hong Kong and Chinese authorities to respect their right to peacefully protest," said the Senators.