July 03, 2018

Van Hollen Announces Public Service Awardees for Western Maryland

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced the Western Maryland recipients of his 2018 Public Service Award. The Van Hollen Public Service Award is designed to commend a high school senior who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to community or public service. Students who embody this commitment are dedicated to making a positive change that will benefit their community, state, or nation. Senator Van Hollen is announcing over 90 recipients throughout Maryland.
“Just as we recognize students who perform well academically or athletically, students who are committed to serving others deserve public recognition and commendation. These students have each shown dedication to serving their communities, and I’m proud to honor their work. I look forward to seeing the great things these young men and women will accomplish in the years ahead,” said Senator Van Hollen.
Local recipients of the Van Hollen Public Service Award are below.
Name of Awardee
High School
Avie Marie Hopcraft
Catoctin High School
Thurmont, MD
Abbe Pannucci
Middletown High School
Middletown, MD
Jennifer Murray
Oakdale High School
Ijamsville, MD
Robert Velte
Saint John's Catholic Prep
Buckeystown, MD
Paul Silas Kirkpatrick
Tuscarora High School
Frederick, MD
Rachel Main
Urbana High School
Ijamsville, MD
Emily Hadigian
Barbara Ingram School for the Arts
Hagerstown, MD
Deborah Aquino
Washington County Technical High School
Hagerstown, MD
Kalee A. Boor
Williamsport High School
Williamsport, MD
Matthew Taejoon Yi
Century High School
Sykesville, MD
Caprina Smith
Liberty High School
 Eldersburg, MD
Danica Grimes
Winters Mill High School
Westminster, MD
Korryn Kahn Hart
Westminster High School
Westminster, MD
Christopher Lynn Summers
Silver Oak Academy
Keymar, MD
Kristen L. Musselman
South Carroll High School
Sykesville, MD
The Van Hollen Public Service Award is awarded to students who display a deep sense of dedication to public service, take meaningful personal initiative, and bring an innovative and fresh approach to improving the lives of others. The Senator’s office invited local schools to nominate students who embody these guidelines and nominated students receive a Congressional Citation. The Van Hollen Public Service Awards program was launched in 2004 when Senator Van Hollen served in the House of Representatives and has since been expanded to encompass the entire state.