July 03, 2018

Van Hollen Announces Public Service Awardees for Southern Maryland

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced the recipients of his 2018 Public Service Award in St. Mary’s, Charles, and Calvert Counties. The Van Hollen Public Service Award is designed to commend a high school senior who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to community or public service. Students who embody this commitment are dedicated to making a positive change that will benefit their community, state, or nation. Senator Van Hollen is announcing over 90 recipients throughout Maryland.
“Just as we recognize students who perform well academically or athletically, students who are committed to serving others deserve public recognition and commendation. These students have each shown dedication to serving their communities, and I’m proud to honor their work. I look forward to seeing the great things these young men and women will accomplish in the years ahead,” said Senator Van Hollen.
Local recipients of the Van Hollen Public Service Award are below.
Name of Awardee
High School
Julia Roush
Calvert High School
Prince Frederick, MD
Elizabeth Ann Boley
Huntington High School
Huntington, MD
McKinley Cameron
Northern High School
Owings, MD
Annmarie L. Budde
Patuxent High School
Lusby, MD
Hallie Jane Redding
La Plata High School
La Plata, MD
Jordan Christian
Thomas Stone High School
Waldorf, MD
Brielle Morgan
Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center
Leonardtown, MD
Jane S. Bailey
Leonardtown High School
Leonardtown, MD
The Van Hollen Public Service Award is awarded to students who display a deep sense of dedication to public service, take meaningful personal initiative, and bring an innovative and fresh approach to improving the lives of others. The Senator’s office invited local schools to nominate students who embody these guidelines and nominated students receive a Congressional Citation. The Van Hollen Public Service Awards program was launched in 2004 when Senator Van Hollen served in the House of Representatives and has since been expanded to encompass the entire state.