June 24, 2019

Van Hollen Announces Public Service Awardees for Prince George’s County

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced the Prince George’s County recipients of his 2019 Public Service Award. The Van Hollen Public Service Award is designed to commend a high school senior who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to community or public service. Students who embody this commitment are dedicated to making a positive change that will benefit their community, state, or nation. Senator Van Hollen is announcing over 125 recipients throughout Maryland.

“It’s important that we recognize students not only for their academic and athletic successes, but also for their work in the community. Each of these students has demonstrated their commitment to serving our communities, and I am proud to honor their hard work and dedication. I look forward to seeing the great things the future has in store for these young leaders, as they continue their efforts to make an impact,” said Senator Van Hollen.

Local recipients of the Van Hollen Public Service Award are below.


Name of Awardee

High School


Orlin Melendrez

The International High School at Langley Park

Bladensburg, MD

Achalefac Akem

Academy of Health Sciences at Prince George's Community College

Largo, MD

Scott Lipscomb

Bowie High School

Upper Marlboro, MD

Traleia McCorkle

Frederick Douglass High School

Hyattsville, MD

Maria Mantilla

Northwestern High School

Hyattsville, MD

Ricardo Colindres Olivarez

High Point High School

Beltsville, MD

Kortiney White

New Hope Academy

Hyattsville, MD

Kathleen Schech

St. Vincent Pallotti High School

Laurel, MD

Karen Ramos-Menjivar

Elizabeth Seton High School

Bladensburg, MD


The Van Hollen Public Service Award is awarded to students who display a deep sense of dedication to public service, take meaningful personal initiative, and bring an innovative and fresh approach to improving the lives of others. The Senator’s office invited local schools to nominate students who embody these guidelines and nominated students receive a Congressional Citation. The Van Hollen Public Service Awards program was launched in 2004 when Senator Van Hollen served in the House of Representatives and has since been expanded to encompass the entire state.