January 09, 2018

Van Hollen Announces New Committee Assignment

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced that he will be joining the Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee as part of a series of committee assignment changes being made with the addition of new Senators Doug Jones (D-AL) and Tina Smith (D-MN).

The EPW Committee has jurisdiction over many areas vital to Maryland, including the Environmental Protection Agency and many of the programs to protect the Chesapeake Bay. It also provides oversight over most federal infrastructure programs, including:

  • Roads and bridges
  • General Services Administration and the siting of federal buildings
  • Army Corps of Engineers projects that are vital to the Port of Baltimore and the Eastern Shore
  • Appalachian Regional Commission, which is essential to economic development in Western Maryland

"The EPW Committee has jurisdiction over areas that are central to Maryland's success and impact every community in our great state," said Senator Van Hollen. "I've been a strong advocate for the idea that environmental and agricultural interests must work together to succeed, and I will continue to fight for Maryland's farming community in the U.S. Senate."

Senator Van Hollen will be moving from the Agriculture Committee with the right to rejoin the Committee upon the next opening. He will remain an active voice on agriculture issues and play an important role in the development of the upcoming Farm Bill.