June 29, 2022

Van Hollen and Cardin Lead the Senate in Celebrating the University of Maryland Men’s Lacrosse Team’s National Championship

Senators also congratulate Terrapin attacker Logan Wisnauskas on winning the Tewaaraton Award, an honor given to the top lacrosse player in the country

U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) announced the passage last week of a Senate Resolution (S.Res.699) they authored to celebrate the University of Maryland Men’s Lacrosse fourth NCAA Division I championship and second national championship in five seasons.

Led by Coach John Tillman, the Maryland Men’s Lacrosse team had a historic undefeated season, winning 18 games – an NCAA record for the most victories in a season without a loss. The perfect season closed with a 9-7 victory over Cornell University for the national championship. The senators applaud the well-rounded team who were led by standouts Logan Wisnauskas, the 2022 Tewaaraton winner, and Logan McNaney, the 2022 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player.

Senator Van Hollen said, “All season long we knew the Terps had it in them to secure a national championship, but that doesn’t make this victory any less sweet. We couldn’t be prouder of our University of Maryland men’s lacrosse team for capping off an undefeated year by clinching another national championship title and securing the NCAA lacrosse record for most wins in a season without a loss. Fear the Turtle!”  

“This season was a season for the ages. The Terps displayed the best passing I have ever seen on a lacrosse field,” said Senator Cardin. “The University of Maryland Men’s Lacrosse program continuously shows class, sportsmanship and excellence on and off the field. This outstanding team has made all of Maryland proud bringing home another national championship to the University of Maryland.”

The full text of the resolution can be found here.