February 12, 2021

Senate Unanimously Passes Legislation Awarding Congressional Gold Medal to USCP Officer Eugene Goodman

Today, the Senate unanimously passed bipartisan legislation to award U.S. Capitol Police Officer Eugene Goodman the Congressional Gold Medal. The legislation was introduced in January by U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and Ben Cardin (D-Md.). Goodman, a Marylander, confronted rioters in the Capitol on January 6, 2021, delaying their access to the Senate chamber and protecting the lives of those inside.

“By redirecting violent rioters away from the Senate chamber on January 6th, Officer Goodman defended our democracy and saved the lives of senators and staff. He is wholly deserving of the highest civilian honor bestowed by Congress, and I’m glad the Senate acted quickly on our legislation to recognize the quick thinking and bravery of this great Marylander with a Congressional Gold Medal. I urge my colleagues in the House to quickly follow suit,” said Senator Van Hollen.

“Today, the Senate voted unanimously to award Congress’ highest honor to Officer Eugene Goodman. The Congressional Gold Medal is a fitting recognition of Officer Goodman’s bravery and quick thinking, which protected not only my colleagues and me, but our democratic process,” said Senator Coons. “At a time of turmoil and division, Officer Goodman’s selfless actions solidified his place as a national hero, and this honor represents a small token of our gratitude and respect.”

“We all watched footage of Officer Eugene Goodman putting his own life at risk to save ours,” said Senator Brown. “What was already a tragic day could have been worse if he had not bravely led the violent mob away from the Senate chamber. Bestowing Officer Goodman with a Congressional Gold Medal to honor his commitment and courage on January 6th is one important way we can thank him for his service on that day and every day.”

“Officer Eugene Goodman’s heroic actions on January 6 prevented a potential catastrophe and his bravery deserves recognition,” said Senator Tillis. “When faced by a violent mob, Officer Goodman did not back down and instead, led the rioters away from the Senate floor. I am grateful for Officer Goodman and am proud this bipartisan legislation to award him the Congressional Gold Medal passed the Senate.”

“This high honor for Officer Eugene Goodman is well earned. His bravery and quick thinking on January 6 saved lives and saved democracy from what could have been an even darker tragedy,” said Senator Cardin. “All of Maryland is proud of Officer Goodman’s courage and service to our nation.” 

The Senators’ legislation has also been cosponsored by Senators Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Angus King (I-Maine), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.).

Companion legislation was introduced in the House by Representatives Charlie Crist (D-Fla.), Emanuel Cleaver (D-Mo.), and Nancy Mace (R-S.C.).

The full text of the bill can be found here.