October 19, 2021

Maryland Congressional Delegation Applauds SBA Approval of Maryland Disaster Relief for Tropical Depression Ida

Today, U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin, along with Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Andy Harris, M.D., Anthony G. Brown, Jamie B. Raskin, and David Trone (all Md.) applauded the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for approving the State of Maryland’s request for a physical disaster declaration due to damage from Tropical Depression Ida. This declaration qualifies eligible homeowners, businesses, and nonprofit organizations for SBA disaster assistance programs, including the Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program (EIDL), to assist with costs associated with physical damage or economic injury caused by the storm.

“Tropical Depression Ida devastated many communities across Maryland, further straining local resources. Federal assistance is needed to rebuild these neighborhoods,” the lawmakers said. “Federal Team Maryland applauds the SBA for granting the state’s disaster request to make homeowners, businesses, and nonprofits harmed by this storm eligible for SBA disaster assistance programs, including low-cost, long-term EIDL loans. This aid will be critical to a swift recovery.”

From August 31 to September 4 of this year, Tropical Depression Ida caused tornadoes and flash flooding in several counties in Maryland, damaging nearly 200 homes and businesses across the state. 

The disaster declaration includes the counties most affected by the storm—Anne Arundel, Cecil, and Montgomery—as well as contiguous counties, including Baltimore, Calvert, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Kent, Prince George’s, and Baltimore City. 

On Monday, the delegation sent a letter to SBA Administrator Isabella Casillas Guzman urging the agency to approve the state’s request.