May 11, 2017

Cardin, Van Hollen Celebrate Public Service Recognition Week

U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen honored the vital work of federal, state, county, and local government employees and members of the uniformed services across the nation this week by passing a bipartisan resolution to designate May 7-13, 2017, as Public Service Recognition Week.

"Maryland is home to roughly 136,000 federal civilian workers and countless more public service professionals - each of whom works tirelessly to better our communities and our country," said Senator Cardin. "Whether it's Maryland's educators pouring their hearts into our children, our police officers and first responders protecting our neighborhoods, or our government employees improving and providing essential government services, our public service workforce is what makes this country exceptional. Their work - sometimes thankless, and always difficult - is the foundation on which our society is built. I'm proud to represent so many, and prouder still to help ensure they receive the recognition they deserve through this resolution."

"Federal employees and service members, many of whom call Maryland home, work every day to care for our veterans, provide Social Security benefits, keep our communities and nation secure, and perform lifesaving research," said Senator Van Hollen. "During Public Service Recognition Week, we pause to appreciate their hard work and dedication to the public good."

For over 30 years, Public Service Recognition Week has been hosted by the Public Employees Roundtable to help honor federal, state, county and local government employees who are critical to running our communities. Click here for more information about events and ways to celebrate Public Service Recognition Week.

Senators Cardin and Van Hollen were joined in sponsoring the bipartisan Public Service Recognition Week Resolution this year by a bipartisan group of 19 cosponsors: U.S. Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), James Lankford (R-OK), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Tom Carper (D-DE), Jon Tester (D-MT), Gary Peters (D-MI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Angus King (I-ME), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Mark Warner (D-VA), and Chris Coons (D-DE).