June 24, 2019

Van Hollen Announces Public Service Awardees for Western Maryland

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced the Western Maryland recipients of his 2019 Public Service Award. The Van Hollen Public Service Award is designed to commend a high school senior who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to community or public service. Students who embody this commitment are dedicated to making a positive change that will benefit their community, state, or nation. Senator Van Hollen is announcing over 125 recipients throughout Maryland.

“It’s important that we recognize students not only for their academic and athletic successes, but also for their work in the community. Each of these students has demonstrated their commitment to serving our communities, and I am proud to honor their hard work and dedication. I look forward to seeing the great things the future has in store for these young leaders, as they continue their efforts to make an impact,” said Senator Van Hollen.

Local recipients of the Van Hollen Public Service Award are below.


Name of Awardee

High School


Heather Shockley

Francis Scott Key High School

Union Bridge, MD

Raymond Hill

Silver Oak Academy

Keymar, MD

Brendon E. Benlolo

South Carroll High School

Sykesville, MD

George William Wilt

Winters Mill High School

Westminster, MD

Abigail Burrows

Liberty High School

Eldersburg, MD

Erin McGrath

Westminster High School

Westminster, MD

Hailey Perry

Century High School

Sykesville, MD

Natalia Chavez-Brown

Oakdale High School

Ijamsville, MD

Leslie Unger

Williamsport High School

Williamsport, MD

Lindsey Draheim

Smithsburg High School

Smithsburg, MD

Sarah J. Stull

Boonsboro High School

Boonsboro, MD

Jarrett W. Harper

Grace Academy

Hagerstown, MD

Keira Billings

Barbara Ingram School for the Arts

Hagerstown, MD

Leah K. Keefer

Washington County Technical High School

Hagerstown, MD

Andrew Dittmer

Mountain Ridge High School

Frostburg, MD

Khadija Shah

Gerstell Academy

Finksburg, MD


The Van Hollen Public Service Award is awarded to students who display a deep sense of dedication to public service, take meaningful personal initiative, and bring an innovative and fresh approach to improving the lives of others. The Senator’s office invited local schools to nominate students who embody these guidelines and nominated students receive a Congressional Citation. The Van Hollen Public Service Awards program was launched in 2004 when Senator Van Hollen served in the House of Representatives and has since been expanded to encompass the entire state.