June 24, 2019

Van Hollen Announces Public Service Awardees for Baltimore Region

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen announced the Baltimore County and Baltimore City recipients of his 2019 Public Service Award. The Van Hollen Public Service Award is designed to commend a high school senior who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to community or public service. Students who embody this commitment are dedicated to making a positive change that will benefit their community, state, or nation. Senator Van Hollen is announcing over 125 recipients throughout Maryland.

“It’s important that we recognize students not only for their academic and athletic successes, but also for their work in the community. Each of these students has demonstrated their commitment to serving our communities, and I am proud to honor their hard work and dedication. I look forward to seeing the great things the future has in store for these young leaders, as they continue their efforts to make an impact,” said Senator Van Hollen

Local recipients of the Van Hollen Public Service Award are below.

Name of Awardee

High School


Sarah E. Coffman

Mercy High School

Baltimore, MD

Jonathan English

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

Baltimore, MD

Ruben Amaya

Franklin High School

Reistertown, MD

Kobe Morrison

City Neighbors High School

Baltimore, MD

Kira Jessup

Baltimore City College

Baltimore, MD

Desmond Holder Billups

George W. F McMechen High School

Baltimore, MD

Mofeed Nagib

Towson High School

Towson, MD

Josiah Gaddis

Greater Grace Christian Academy

Baltimore, MD

Samuel Wilson

Eastern Technical High School

Essex, MD

Britney Melisa Amaya

Overlea High School

Baltimore, MD

John Matthew Moses

Calvert Hall College High School

Towson, MD

Alexander Connor Willis

The Harbour School at Baltimore

Owings Mills, MD

Mahdia Azizi

St. Timothy's School

Stevenson, MD

Benjamin W. Pugh

McDonogh School

Owings Mills, MD

Morgan Pennick

Archbishop Spalding High School

Severn, MD

Morgan Suchin

Pikesville High School

Baltimore, MD

Olivia Wikstrom

Loch Raven High School

Baltimore, MD

Maura McCarthy

Institute of Notre Dame

Baltimore, MD

Samantha Wilson

Kenwood High School

Baltimore, MD

Christen Gibson

Western School of Technology and Environmental Science

Baltimore, MD

Hanna Elizabeth Thomas

Maryvale Preparatory School

Lutherville, MD

Grace Koski

Perry Hill Christian School

Perry Hall, MD

Isaiah Farmer

Owings Mills High School

Owings Mills, MD


The Van Hollen Public Service Award is awarded to students who display a deep sense of dedication to public service, take meaningful personal initiative, and bring an innovative and fresh approach to improving the lives of others. The Senator’s office invited local schools to nominate students who embody these guidelines and nominated students receive a Congressional Citation. The Van Hollen Public Service Awards program was launched in 2004 when Senator Van Hollen served in the House of Representatives and has since been expanded to encompass the entire state.