Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator for Maryland

Press Releases

You are here

U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) today announced that Frostburg State University has been awarded a $37,203 AmeriCorps Grant from the Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS) to fund the Conquering Opiate Abuse Together (COAT) program to help combat the opioid epidemic in Western Maryland.


U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen released the following statement on the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) analysis of the Republican bill to repeal the Affordable Care Act (ACA), which would reduce the number of Americans with insurance by 32 million over the next ten years:

Today U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) joined 21 Senate Democrats in sending a letter to Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Scott Pruitt and Army Corps of Engineers Deputy Assistant Secretary Douglas Lamont urging them to extend the 30-day public comment period for EPA’s proposal to rescind the 2015 Clean Water Rule. In total, the Obama Administration allowed the public to comment on the original rule for 180 days in 2014 and responded to over one million public comments.


Today U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen joined MSNBC’s Craig Melvin to discuss continued attempts by President Trump and Senate Republicans to pass legislation that would cause turmoil in our health care system. A transcript of the exchange is below, and video is available here:  

CRAIG MELVIN, MSNBC: I want to bring in Senator Chris Van Hollen, Democrat from Maryland. Senator, were you able to hear the President's comments there?


Today U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen and a group of Democratic Senators sent a letter to the acting director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy expressing concern that the White House’s Commission on Combating Drug Addiction and the Opioid Crisis – chaired by New Jersey Governor Chris Christie – is wasting valuable time by delaying steps that could provide immediate solutions to address the opioid crisis. Despite an abundance of actionable information, the commission has announced more hearings and literature reviews.

Today U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen will introduce the Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission Act. The legislation would establish a commission to honor and celebrate Frederick Douglass in 2018 as we mark the 200th anniversary of his birth. It is the companion bill to legislation introduced in the House of Representatives by Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) and Congressman Andy Harris (R-MD).

Today U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) joined 25 Senate colleagues in writing a letter to the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) urging Secretaries Rex Tillerson and John Kelly to extend the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) of nationals currently residing in the United States.

U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) have announced that the Economic Development Administration (EDA) will award $140,000 to the Eastern Shore for the development and implementation of a comprehensive economic development strategy (CEDS).

U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) today announced a $143,888 Department of Transportation (DOT) grant for the Bay Bridge Airport in Stevensville, Md. The funding will help repair lighting and approach surfaces on the runway.


Today U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) announced that the Health Resources and Services Administration has awarded a $300,000 grant to the Maryland Area Health Education Center (AHEC) West in Cumberland, Maryland. AHEC West serves Appalachian counties in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia on health care issues.



Washington, D.C. Office

110 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone (202) 224-4654
Fax: (202) 228-0629

State Offices

Montgomery County Office

111 Rockville Pike
Suite 960
Rockville, MD  20850
Phone (301) 545-1500
Fax (301) 545-1512

Baltimore Office

1900 North Howard Street, Suite 100
Baltimore, MD  21218
Phone (667) 212-4610
Fax (301) 545-1512

Prince George's County Office (opening soon)

1101 Mercantile Lane
Suite 210
Largo, MD  20774

State Offices

Western Maryland Office

32 West Washington Street
Suite 203
Hagerstown, MD  21740
Phone (301) 797-2826
Fax (301) 797-2241


Anne Arundel & Southern Maryland Office

60 West Street
Suite 107
Annapolis, MD  21401
Phone (410) 263-1325

Eastern Shore Office (opening soon)

204 Cedar Street
Suite 200C
Cambridge, MD  21613