Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator for Maryland

Van Hollen, Cardin Announce $1 Million Grant for Carroll County Health Department

You are here

Today U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) announced that a $1 million grant has been awarded to the Carroll County Health Department (CCHD) to improve the health and well-being of young children with behavioral health needs. The grant is provided by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

“Early diagnosis and comprehensive health care is absolutely critical for children with behavioral health needs. Their health and success throughout life depend on access to those diagnostic tools, which do not often come easy for families struggling to both find and afford the specialists they need,” said Senator Cardin. “This investment in Carroll County’s families will go a long way toward helping countless children thrive.”

“Early detection and care for mental health issues can prevent a lifetime of challenges for young Marylanders,” said Senator Van Hollen. “Treatment at a young age also saves resources across our state’s health care system, making this grant a smart investment in the health of communities in Carroll County and across the state.”

The grant will fund CCHD’s E-SMART program, which serves young children with serious behavioral health needs. The programs provides comprehensive, developmentally appropriate, family-centered care. In addition, family needs will be addressed through connections with needed resources for parent and caregivers. This can include resources for caregiver health and mental health needs, housing and food insecurity, school and job training, and referrals to a wide of array of other community services.  


Washington, D.C. Office

110 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone (202) 224-4654
Fax: (202) 228-0629

State Offices

Montgomery County Office

111 Rockville Pike
Suite 960
Rockville, MD  20850
Phone (301) 545-1500
Fax (301) 545-1512

Baltimore Office

1900 North Howard Street, Suite 100
Baltimore, MD  21218
Phone (667) 212-4610
Fax (301) 545-1512

Prince George's County Office (opening soon)

1101 Mercantile Lane
Suite 210
Largo, MD  20774

State Offices

Western Maryland Office

32 West Washington Street
Suite 203
Hagerstown, MD  21740
Phone (301) 797-2826
Fax (301) 797-2241


Anne Arundel & Southern Maryland Office

60 West Street
Suite 107
Annapolis, MD  21401
Phone (410) 263-1325

Eastern Shore Office (opening soon)

204 Cedar Street
Suite 200C
Cambridge, MD  21613