Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator for Maryland

Van Hollen, Cardin Announce $450,000 Infrastructure Grant for Frostburg

You are here

Today U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.) announced new federal funding for the City of Frostburg. The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) will provide $450,000 to make infrastructure improvements to Frostburg Gateway at the terminus of Braddock Road. It will create approximately 64 new jobs, retain 40 existing jobs, and ultimately improve connections between Interstate 68, Frostburg State University, and the city center.

“Investing in our nation’s infrastructure is a top priority, and I’m proud to announce that the federal government is doing just that here in Frostburg,” said Senator Van Hollen. “This funding will create new jobs, keep even more people employed, and improve commerce and travel in the community. These are the kinds of smart investments we need to be making across Maryland.”

“This is a smart federal investment in Frostburg’s infrastructure,” said Senator Cardin. “It will improve some of the area’s most heavily used roads, allowing local economies and commerce to continue growing and serving Frostburg residents. The fact that this investment will also create good-paying jobs in the area is an added bonus. I’ll keep fighting to ensure every corner of Maryland receives the resources they need to improve their infrastructure and grow their local job markets.”

ARC is an economic development agency of the federal government and 13 state governments focusing on 420 counties across the Appalachian region. Its mission is to innovate, partner, and invest to build community capacity and strengthen economic growth in Appalachia and help the region achieve socioeconomic parity with the nation.


Washington, D.C. Office

110 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone (202) 224-4654
Fax: (202) 228-0629

State Offices

Montgomery County Office

111 Rockville Pike
Suite 960
Rockville, MD  20850
Phone (301) 545-1500
Fax (301) 545-1512

Baltimore Office

1900 North Howard Street, Suite 100
Baltimore, MD  21218
Phone (667) 212-4610
Fax (301) 545-1512

Prince George's County Office (opening soon)

1101 Mercantile Lane
Suite 210
Largo, MD  20774

State Offices

Western Maryland Office

32 West Washington Street
Suite 203
Hagerstown, MD  21740
Phone (301) 797-2826
Fax (301) 797-2241


Anne Arundel & Southern Maryland Office

60 West Street
Suite 107
Annapolis, MD  21401
Phone (410) 263-1325

Eastern Shore Office (opening soon)

204 Cedar Street
Suite 200C
Cambridge, MD  21613