December 10, 2019

Van Hollen, Bipartisan Group of Senators Send Letter to UN Convention in Support of Global Efforts to Combat Climate Change

Today, U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) joined Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and a bipartisan group of Senators in a letter to Patricia Espinosa, Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), in support of its global efforts to thwart climate change. The 25th session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 25) is underway in Madrid to convene a meeting on the historic Paris Climate Agreement. 

The Senators wrote, “Failing to address the worsening crisis of climate change will wreak damages on all Americans for centuries into the future. Now more than ever, the American people are demanding action on climate change from our federal government and our international partners.”

In their letter, the Senators urged the UNFCCC and all international participants in the convention to explore all solutions and paths forward to combat the effects of climate change. In closing, the Senators reiterated that though the administration is not prioritizing this existential crisis, there is bipartisan support in Congress to take action. The Senators concluded, “In a moment where the commitment of the United States to address climate change seems threadbare, we, the undersigned, assure you that we are working diligently to respond to this global threat and we support your efforts in Madrid.”

The letter was also signed by U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Susan Collins (R-ME), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chris Coons (D-DE), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Tom Udall (D-NM), Angus King (I-ME), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Bob Casey (D-PA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Patrick Leahy (D-VT) and Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tim Kaine (D-VA) and Joe Manchin (D-WV).

The letter can be read in full here.