September 11, 2020

Sens. Van Hollen, Coons, Cassidy & Reps. Price, Matsui Announce Resolution to Recognize 9/11 as a National Day of Service

Today, U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Chris Coons (D-Del.) and Bill Cassidy (R-La.) and U.S. Representatives David Price (D-N.C.) and Doris Matsui (D-Calif.), all members of the National Service Congressional Caucus, announced a resolution recognizing September 11 as a national day of service and encouraging the American public to engage in a charitable service of their choosing on or around 9/11.

In 2009 following calls by families of those killed in the attacks of September 11, 2001, Congress established that date as a National Day of Service and Remembrance in tribute to the 9/11 victims, first responders, recovery workers, volunteers, and members of the U.S. military who rose in service in defense of our nation. This year, the lawmakers call on their colleagues in the Senate and House of Representatives to reaffirm that commitment and honor the heroes who rose to service in response to attacks in New York City, outside Washington, D.C. in northern Virginia, and near Shanksville, Pennsylvania.  

In the Senate, the resolution was also cosponsored by Senators Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Duckworth (D-Ill.), Angus King (D-Maine), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Shelley Capito (R-W.V.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jackie Rosen (D-Nev.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), and Patty Murray (D-Wash.). 

In the House, the resolution was also cosponsored by Representatives Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Ed Case (D-Hawaii), Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), Michael San Nicolas (D-Guam), David Joyce (R-Ohio), Mary Gay Scanlon (D-Pa.), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Gil Cisneros (D-Calif.) Greg Steube (R-Fla.), Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), Seth Moulton (D-Mass.), Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.), Michael Waltz (R-Fla.), Tom Cole (R-Okla.), Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.), Hank Johnson (D-Ga.), Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.), and Kathy Castor (D-Fla.). 

The text of the resolution can be found here.