OFFICERS

Otis S. Jones

Ann Pelham VICE CHAIR

Hilary Harp Falk

PRESIDENT AND CEO

David A. Fogle

William A. Agee SECRETARY

TRUSTEES

Marnie Abramson Dara C. Bachman R. Bruce Bradley Joan P. Brock George L. Bunting Jr. Brian Cobb Margaret M. Freeman Alexandra Gravson Jennifer E. Green Harry S. Gruner Ann D. Horner Robert A. Kinsley II Katie 7. Leavy Jonathan D. Manekin Anne Mehringer Pamela B. Murphy Mamie A. Parker, Ph.D. Crystal Patterson Samara Pyfrom Christa Riepe Nathaniel J. Rose Kathryn Gilchrist Simpson Carol B. Sisco, Ph.D. Janine J. Smith J. Sedwick Sollers III R. Todd Stravitz, MD Sandra E. Taylor Preston M. White Robert N. Whitescarver Stephen M. Wolf

HONORARY

Donald F. Boesch, Ph.D. W. Russell G. Byers Jr. D. Keith Campbell Michael J. Chiaramonte Louisa C. Duemling Richard L. Franyo Alan R. Griffith Carolyn Groobey Ann Fritz Hackett C.A. Porter Hopkins T. Gaylon Layfield III Harry T. Lester Byron F. Marchant M. Lee Marston Wayne A. Mills Flizabeth Oliver-Farrow Arnold I. Richman Marie W. Ridder James E. Rogers Truman T. Semans Simon Sidamon-Eristoff Jennifer Stanley Thomas H. Stoner Bishop Eugene Taylor Sutton July 6, 2023

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen United States Senate 730 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Sarbanes U.S. House of Representatives 2370 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

RE: Chesapeake National Recreation Area

Dear Senator Van Hollen and Representative Sarbanes:

On behalf of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF), a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to restore and protect the ecological health of the Chesapeake Bay, I am writing to thank you for your leadership to create the Chesapeake National Recreation Area (CNRA), a new unit of the National Park System in the Chesapeake watershed.

Promoting and expanding opportunities to experience the Bay and learn about its history have been long-standing priorities for CBF. As the nation's largest estuary and home to abundant wildlife and cultural diversity, the Chesapeake Bay watershed is without question nationally significant. The Bay holds a special place in our hearts as well as our region's unique history. The designation of the CNRA, along with the permanent authorization of the Chesapeake Gateways program, are necessary for elevating the stories of the Bay's ecosystem and restoration efforts, history, and cultural diversity.

CBF has focused on reaching all communities across the watershed, recognizing the systemic barriers in accessing waterfront recreation and the associated benefits including public health and quality of life. With the watershed spanning 64,000 square miles and boasting more than 11,000 miles of shoreline, all residents and visitors should have the opportunity to enjoy this wonderful resource and all the recreation opportunities it provides. We support the creation of the CNRA, as it would increase both the quantity and quality of public access sites around the Bay, supporting the connections between the people and the waterway and wildlife.

CBF supports all partners in the watershed, residents, and those who rely on Bay resources; thus, we appreciate that the CNRA allows for the voluntary transfer of land for property owners wishing to participate in this effort. We also support the explicit



OFFICERS

Otis S. Jones CHAIR

Ann Pelham VICE CHAIR

Hilary Harp Falk PRESIDENT AND CEO

David A. Fogle TREASURER

William A. Agee SECRETARY

TRUSTEES

Marnie Abramson

Dara C. Bachman R. Bruce Bradley Joan P. Brock George L. Bunting Jr. Brian Cobb Margaret M. Freeman Alexandra Grayson Jennifer E. Green Harry S. Gruner Ann D. Horner Robert A. Kinsley II Katie Z. Leavy Jonathan D. Manekin Anne Mehringer Pamela B. Murphy Mamie A. Parker, Ph.D. Crystal Patterson Samara Pyfrom Christa Riepe Nathaniel J. Rose Kathryn Gilchrist Simpson Carol B. Sisco, Ph.D. Janine J. Smith J. Sedwick Sollers III R. Todd Stravitz, MD Sandra E. Taylor Preston M. White Robert N. Whitescarver

HONORARY TRUSTEES

Stephen M. Wolf

Donald F. Boesch, Ph.D. W. Russell G. Byers Jr. D. Keith Campbell Michael J. Chiaramonte Louisa C. Duemling Richard L. Franyo Alan R. Griffith Carolyn Groobey Ann Fritz Hackett C.A. Porter Hopkins T. Gaylon Layfield III Harry T. Lester Byron F. Marchant M. Lee Marston Wayne A. Mills Elizabeth Oliver-Farrow Arnold I. Richman Marie W. Ridder James E. Rogers Truman T. Semans Simon Sidamon-Eristoff Jennifer Stanley Thomas H. Stoner Bishop Eugene Taylor Sutton Alan L. Wurtzel

requirement that commercial and recreational fisheries as well as states' authority to manage fish and wildlife species will not be impacted by this effort.

Thank you once again for leading this important initiative. We look forward to working with you to ensure swift passage of this bill and the establishment of this new national recreation area in the Chesapeake.

Sincerely, Keisha Sedlacek Federal Director Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Cc: The Honorable Ben Cardin The Honorable Mark Warner The Honorable Tim Kaine The Honorable Bobby Scott