Congress of the United States Washington, D.C. 20515

May 8, 2023

President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500 The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Mr. President and Secretary Buttigieg:

We write to express our strong support for the planned renovation and expansion of Union Station in the District of Columbia, which will better serve the travel needs of residents and commuters in our districts. The Washington Union Station Expansion Project (USEP) represents a historic transportation and economic development opportunity for the District of Columbia and the national capital region. We urge your administration to provide robust funding for the USEP and to issue the final Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) and Record of Decision by the end of this fiscal year.

Union Station is a vital local, regional and national transportation hub that, pre-pandemic, welcomed more than 100,000 travelers and visitors each day—more than either Reagan National Airport or Dulles International Airport. Located five blocks from the U.S. Capitol, Union Station serves as a gateway to the nation's capital, as well as the backbone that connects East Coast rail lines to the north and south. Commuters and visitors rely on this station every day to get to work and to visit the nation's capital. It is the first and second highest ridership stations for the Maryland Area Regional Commuter (MARC) and the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) lines, respectively.

Amtrak, MARC and VRE are all expecting unprecedented growth in ridership, with demand estimated to reach two or three times higher than pre-pandemic levels by 2040. Despite the growing role the station plays in transportation and regional connectivity, and the unique role it plays in the history of the District of Columbia, the station has not undergone any infrastructure improvements since the 1990s. According to the Federal Railroad Administration's own assessment, the predicted growth in ridership at Union Station will be constrained without infrastructure improvements.

The USEP will bring much-needed restoration to the infrastructure behind the station, and also more than double capacity at the station and better meet the growing travel needs of residents, commuters and visitors to the nation's capital. The USEP will enhance our constituents' transportation safety and access to intercity buses, rail, cycling and walking paths. The project is essential for connecting neighborhoods, increasing equitable access to transit and combating our climate crisis by enhancing the availability of clean, multimodal transportation options.

D.C. has already committed \$250 million to the reconstruction of the H St. Bridge, a project that is essential for the subsequent track reconfiguration element of the USEP. Absent much-needed infrastructure improvements, Union Station will remain the region's biggest chokepoint and will constrain transit improvements being made across the region.

Whereas nearly all multimodal transportation facilities are owned by state or municipal transportation entities, Union Station is federally owned and requires federal support to modernize its critical infrastructure, increase equitable access and improve rail and intercity bus facilities. As we approach the 120th anniversary of its groundbreaking, we urge you to accelerate the EIS and provide robust funding to the USEP.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Member of Congress

Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator

Jamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Wlenn Ivey

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr.

Member of Congress

Benjamin L. Cardin

United States Senator

Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Tim Kaine

United States Senator



Mark R. Warner United States Senator

David J. Trone Member of Congress Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat
Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Summer Lee Member of Congress Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Donald Norcross

Member of Congress