

November 10, 2020

The Honorable Jim Inhofe Chairman Senate Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Adam Smith Chairman House Armed Services Committee 2120 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Jack Reed Ranking Member Senate Committee on Armed Services 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mac Thornberry Ranking Member House Armed Services Committee 2120 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Inhofe, Chairman Smith, Ranking Member Reed, and Ranking Member Thornberry:

We write to request that the conference report of the Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) *National Defense Authorization Act* (NDAA) include a provision to require the Department of Defense (DoD, or the Department) rename all property and other assets owned by the Department named in honor of Confederate officers.

As you know, both the Senate and House versions of the FY21 NDAA contain provisions requiring the Secretary of Defense to rename all military property, including the ten Army installations, and in honor of Confederate officers. Section 2829 of the House bill requires the renaming process to be complete within one year, while Section 377 of the Senate bill authorizes a three-year period for completing renaming. Both provisions mandate that the Secretary establish a formal process for cataloging all assets to be renamed and for determining new names.

The Senate and House strongly supported the inclusion of this requirement by passing their bills with overwhelming, veto-proof, bipartisan majorities.⁴ The requirement also received bipartisan support in committee markups. Despite the widespread support for this proposal,

https://www.senate.gov/legislative/LIS/roll_call_lists/roll_call_vote_cfm.cfm?congress=116&session=2&vote=001 40 and House of Representatives Roll Call Vote No. 152, https://clerk.house.gov/Votes/2020152.

¹ New York Times, "These Are the 10 U.S. Army Installations Named for Confederates," Michael Levenson, June 11, 2020, https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/11/us/military-bases-confederates.html

² FY2021 National Defense Authorization Act, H.R. 6395, https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/6395

³ FY2021 National Defense Authorization Act, S. 4049, https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/senate-bill/4049

⁴ Senate Roll Call Vote No. 140,

Chairman Inhofe has declared his intention to strip it out behind closed doors in conference, saying "We're going to see to it that provision doesn't survive the bill... I'm not going to say how at this point."⁵

We strongly oppose removing this provision and respectfully request the conferees to retain in the conference report the provision endorsed by both chambers: a requirement for the Department to rename all military assets named for the Confederacy no later than three years after the date of enactment.

Millions of servicemembers of color have lived on, trained at, and deployed from installations named to honor traitors that killed Americans in defense of chattel slavery. Renaming these bases does not disrespect our military – it honors the sacrifices and contributions of our servicemembers in a way that better reflects our nation's diversity and values. We know who these bases were named for and why they were named. It is long past the time to correct this longstanding, historic injustice. We must not shrink from our solemn duty in his moment.

	Sincerely,	
<u>/s/</u>	/s/	
Elizabeth Warren	Richard Blumenthal	
United States Senator	United States Senator	
/s/	/s/	
Sheldon Whitehouse	Mazie K. Hirono	
United States Senator	United States Senator	
<u>/s/</u>	<u>/s/</u>	
Chris Van Hollen	Chris Murphy	
United States Senator	United States Senator	
<u>/s/</u>	<u>/s/</u>	
Richard J. Durbin	Robert P. Casey, Jr.	
United States Senator	United States Senator	

⁵ Politico, "Top senator says Congress shouldn't remove Confederate names from bases," Connor O'Brien, July 24, 2020, https://www.politico.com/news/2020/07/24/inhofe-congress-confederate-names-bases-381192.

/s/	/s/
Michael F. Bennet	Ron Wyden
United States Senator	United States Senator
/s/	/s/
Jeanne Shaheen	Kirsten Gillibrand
United States Senator	United States Senator
Cinica States Soliator	Cinica States Senator
<u>/s/</u>	<u>/s/</u>
Maria Cantwell	Sherrod Brown
United States Senator	United States Senator
	/s/ Cory A. Booker
United States Senator	United States Senator
Bernard Sanders United States Senator	
	Tammy Duckworth United States Senator
/s/ Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator	/s/ Robert Menendez United States Senator

Patty Murray United States Senator /s/ Thomas R. Carper United States Senator
/s/ Thomas R. Carper
United States Senator
/s/
/s/ Patrick Leahy
United States Senator
/0/
Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator
<u></u>
Debbie Stabenow
United States Senator
(0)
Joe Manchin III
United States Senator
Officed States Senator
101
Doug Jones
United States Senator
Officed States Seliator

CC: The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Senate Majority Leader The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, House Minority Leader The Honorable Chuck Schumer, Senate Minority Leader