## United States Senate

February 4, 2021

The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel Acting Chairwoman Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street, NE Washington, DC 20554

Dear Acting Chairwoman Rosenworcel:

Under your new leadership, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) must act quickly to address a wide range of pressing issues related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Among these, we urge you to provide home internet connectivity and devices to students who are unable to participate in online learning during this ongoing emergency. We specifically call on the FCC to take long-overdue action and utilize the E-Rate program to start bridging the "homework gap" without delay.

As we approach the one year-anniversary of this public health crisis, studies indicate that as many as 12 million children in the United States still lack internet access at home and are unable to participate in online learning.<sup>1</sup> These students are disproportionally from communities of color, low-income households, Tribal lands, and rural areas.<sup>2</sup> Despite our repeated call to address this homework gap,<sup>3</sup> your predecessor at the FCC refused to use the emergency authority available to the Chair and resources available through the E-Rate program to connect these vulnerable children. This mistake allowed far too many students to fall behind in their education.

The E-Rate is, and has been for over two decades, an essential source of funding to connect the nation's schools and libraries to the internet. Contrary to your predecessor's assertions, the FCC has always had clear emergency authority to utilize existing E-Rate funding to connect students learning online during the coronavirus pandemic. The statute authorizing this program does not preclude the FCC from freeing funds to connect students' homes during the current crisis — which, because schools have had to close their doors, have become de facto classrooms for millions of children.

We appreciate that you have already recognized the FCC's ability to act, including by asserting in congressional testimony that "the FCC could use E-Rate right now to provide every school

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Common Sense Media et al., *Looking Back, Looking Forward: What It Will Take to Permanently Close the K-12 Digital Divide* (2021), https://www.commonsensemedia.org/kids-action/publications/closing-the-k-12-digital-divide-in-the-age-of-distance-learning.

 $<sup>^{2}</sup>$  Id.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Letter from Edward J. Markey et al., United States Senators, to Ajit Pai, Chairman, Federal Communications Commission (Sept. 17, 2020), https://www.markey.senate.gov/news/press-releases/as-new-school-year-begins-senators-markey-schumer-cantwell-van-hollen-bennet-hassan-schatz-lead-colleagues-in-demanding-urgent-action-by-fcc-to-connect-students-to-online-learning.

The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel February 4, 2021 Page 2

library with Wi-Fi hotspots and other connectivity devices to loan out to students who lack reliable internet access at home."<sup>4</sup> In accordance with this statement, we urge you to now use your new leadership of the FCC to depart from the prior Commission's erroneous position. Specifically, we request that you leverage the E-Rate program to begin providing connectivity and devices for remote learning. Although the funds currently available through the E-Rate will not be enough to connect every student across the country, your prompt action would provide an essential down payment. From there, Congress must provide the resources needed to finish the job by passing our *Emergency Educational Connections Act*,<sup>5</sup> legislation that would appropriate billions more to be delivered through the E-Rate program to help close the homework gap during the pandemic.

The urgency of combined action by the FCC and Congress cannot be overstated. Together, we can provide the long-overdue support that our most vulnerable students require. We know you share our concerns and look forward to working with you to bridge the homework gap during this crisis, as well as design a permanent solution to the digital divide in the days ahead.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter. Due to the telework policies of many Senate offices during the coronavirus pandemic, physical signatures are unavailable. The listed senators have asked to be signatories to this letter.

Sincerely,

Edward J. Markey	Maria Cantwell
United States Senator	United States Senator
Chris Van Hollen	Michael F. Bennet
United States Senator	United States Senator
Margaret Wood Hassan	Brian Schatz
United States Senator	United States Senator
Richard Blumenthal	Kirsten Gillibrand
United States Senator	United States Senator
Tammy Baldwin	Catherine Cortez Masto
United States Senator	United States Senator
Mazie K. Hirono	Mark R. Warner
United States Senator	United States Senator

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Oversight of the Federal Communications Commission, Hearing before the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, https://www.commerce.senate.gov/2020/6/oversight-of-the-federal-communicationscommission (statement of Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Emergency Educational Connections Act of 2020, S. 3690, 116th Cong. (2020).

The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel February 4, 2021 Page 3

> Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

> Ron Wyden United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator Patrick J. Leahy United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

Ben Ray Luján United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper United States Senator

Patty Murray United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

CC: The Honorable Geoffrey Starks, Commissioner The Honorable Brendan Carr, Commissioner The Honorable Nathan Simington, Commissioner